My Mom’s Cousins Jon

I missed homecoming to walk for ALS in Sacramento. My second cousin, who is more like an uncle to me, was diagnosed with ALS early this year. It has progressed a lot and we are doing this walk for him. We spent the whole weekend up there with most of my mom’s side of the family. We signed up for the walk before school started so when i find out that homecoming was the same weekend I was upset but I knew I was doing this for a good cause. Our family is very close and we do everything together. My mom and I went up to Sacramento to see him before school started and we sat h\there talking to him and the rest of his family for hours. We couldn’t stay very long because he doesn’t stay up very late and we had a long drive ahead of us.

The walk was a 5k and we all stayed together and walked with Jon, while he was being pushed in a wheelchair. This whole event caused our family to become even closer if that was even possible. It really opened my eyes to what was really important, which is family. It doesn’t matter what happens I know my family will always be there for my family and me. The last time we were all together was at my great grandma’s funeral. It wasn’t a sad get together really. We were celebrating her life. She lived for over 100 years and got to see kids become adults and her own kids become grandparents. Tragedies, in my experience, really bring families closer. Our goal for the walk was met. We most of our family there, the only ones who couldn’t make it had to work. Family support means everything to me. I don’t know where I’d be without my family. There were 180 people there to support my cousin Jon. We surprisingly didn’t have the most people there but we came in second. Our team reached our goal and went above it. Our goal was $10,00 but we made over $11,00. On our walk we walked around the capitol, and it was so amazing. It was a great experience and I hope we keep doing it. I’m very happy I chose to go to Sacramento other than homecoming.

 

photophoto (1)

Leave a Reply

